The Ascension? Really?

By Girl…

I was thinking about the sudden revelation that Errol believes that he is going to experience some sort of ascension…  WTHell?  Where did that even come from?  I might have bought it if someone had mentioned it.  If maybe the word Ascension was in Dora’s diary or something…  But suddenly, we get a few sentences at the beginning of the finale mentioning this:

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.45.07 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.45.15 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.45.26 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.45.55 PM

 

This comes right after he mentioned that he hadn’t left his mark in weeks, a few weeks, two weeks (I’m too tired to care at the moment)… So, now I guess we are supposed to assume that he is talking about the woman hanging from the bridge near Lake Charles.  And from that I guess we are supposed to assume that he is baiting law enforcement to come kill him so he can ascend, or whatever…  Then while he is luring Rust into the heart of his catacomb…   Oh wait… what am I doing?  Why am I making my weary mind and fingers write all this out when Nic Pizzolatto laid it all out to EW…  Here is a quote from that interview:

“In the beginning, when he says, “My ascension removes me the disc in the loop,” he’s describing the cosmology of eternal recurrence of various characters, including Cohle and Reggie Ledoux hit upon, and he’s hitting upon his personal mythology. When he says, “It’s been weeks since I left my mark, would they have eyes to see,” we can tell from that that he’s angling for a reckoning, for a showdown. He’s waiting for it. He believes the murders ritually enacted over a period of time, upon his death, permit him an ascension that removes him from the Karmic wheel of rebirth.”

Wait… WHAT? THE? FUNK?

Oh jesus…  that sounds just so convoluted.  Here is what I think…  Piz (Yeah, I’m calling him Piz now, and yes, it’s an insult because who was the most boring character on Veronica Mars?  Yes, that would be Piz.) So, Piz started writing the the final episode, knowing his killer had to die but he just needed some kind of reason for him to WANT to die…  completely stumped he decided a Buffy the Vampire Slayer marathon might help get his juices flowing…  and then he saw this:

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.37.06 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.37.20 PMNot convinced?  What about this?

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 3.58.16 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 3.58.32 PM

 

And is when Piz probably thought to himself: “Blossom?  Hmmm… what is it that blossoms?  Flowers?  Flowers blossom don’t they?  That would be a perfect way to explain away that stupid flower painting that I promised my niece that we would use for something… but how… how could I make it super creepy?  Oh!  I know!”

Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 4.46.06 PMEw…  how am I supposed to get excited about planting flowers this year?  Thanks Piz… you’ve just ruined gardening for me.

3 thoughts on “The Ascension? Really?

    • Hey Shake! You are damned right! I (boy here) apologize on behalf of Girl and I.

      Frankly, this writing this blog inspired both of us to take our writing further, in our own ways. For myself, I’ve begun working on a screenplay with a buddy of mine, and so I irresponsibly neglected the blog! I’m going to ‘re-gather’ my thoughts, and get a finale post up, and we’ll see if Girl has anything more to say as well. Girl and I are also looking for more shows to start and dissect, as running a blog like this was just too much fun to not try again.

      Thanks for holding our feet to the fire. Frankly I’m amazed anyone still comes to this site, but we get new visitors every day!

Leave a Reply

