The Take Away… Girl’s Thoughts on her Final Thoughts on the Finale…

By Girl

Hey guys, sorry about the lull…  There is so much about the finale I have opinions about…  about 5 (the once magic number) off the top of my head.  Trouble is, researching all of them to pull out proof for you guys to see what I’m talking about has been difficult.

The Topics include:

Silence of the True Detectives…  Here is where I will explain why it was impossible for me to not see the insane similarities during the climax of the finale to the climax of the movie Silence of the Lambs. When you really start looking with fresh eyes… the results are staggering.  (or just me reaching…  but with a slight stagger.)

The swirling brickwork of the well that led to the discover of the Governor’s Daughter…  does it look like any OTHER swirly things that led to any other discoveries of any other daughters in the final climax of DT?

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 4.55.54 PM

Detective Nic…  In which we realize that True Detective is just a vehicle for Nic Pizzolatto to complain about how hard it is to be a writer while simultaneously bossing us around.  I’ve asserted before that I believe that Pizzolatto spoke through his characters either talking about the process of writing or telling us what to watch out for and how to see things.  This is where the book “The Yellow King” comes in. You know, the book about a play that drives everyone insane by the second act?  This may have been how he created his own way of writing a TV Series about an episode (or sodes)…  by talking about the process of writing it throughout the dialog?

Red Herrings…  Where I find all the Red Herrings on the show, rewatch the scenes and try to see what was being said or happening in the scene while we were being distracted by Barbies and Spirals…  The end game here is to see if the Red Herrings served their purpose as distractions (make us miss important information)  as to make the end of the whodunit surprising. I would also like to see if these moments where Pizzolatto took more opportunities to speak directly to us through his characters.

Nic IS Carcosa… or at least it exists in his head…  This will be where I look at our villain, Errol the Giant Spaghetti Monster with Green Ears. This nut job, sadly a victim of his fucked up family and their cult, has so many different voices coming out of his head in the final episode it made me start to think about who those voices are…  I have nailed down a couple (still having trouble with that damn Irish accent) and I’m convinced that Pizzolatto must have been scarred by horror movies of the past that his Killer in TD is actually an amalgam of all of the terrifying killers as a result. I’m going to try to track down the voices of these killers (I have to figure out who they are first) and see if I can piece together our Giant Killing Machine who also loves to make flowers.  (Ew, just ew.)

Hmmm… remember that one serial killer who was a giant and picked up a detective in a climactic scene? He also had a very abusive family and tortured and killed cats. 

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 4.28.21 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 4.27.57 PM

The Audrey Conundrum…  We are being asked to just ignore the biggest red herring of the entire show… the Barbie gang rape scene.  It is so spot on in the matching details of the actual crime committed against Marie Fontenot that it doesn’t that is really doesnt feel like a red herring at all… it feels like a crime… and to do what the show runners are telling us to do and just throw it out that feels like a disservice to all children who have been abused. I know, very serious topic for a television show… but they are the ones who posed that Barbie so it is their fault that I’m bringing it up.

So, this is my plan for the next few weeks.  It will take a lot of research so bear with me.  I’m sure guy will have things to add as we move forward and further away from our first True Detective season…  Oh the fun we shall have until next season…  we sure hope you stick with us.  I know I’m definitely interested in writing a few things about the deer horns that seem to be popping up in a few of shows about serial killers these days as well as revising past shows with similar themes and similar fan bases.  I’m tempted now to belt out a rousing rendition of the theme song from the Great Space Coaster for some inexplicable reason… but I shall refrain and spare you all…  or at least to spare my cat from my terrible singing voice.

Also… please feel free to chime in here on any of these topics if you have an opinion or idea… no reed to wait for me to finish…  I’d love all of your ideas on this stuff.  🙂

2 thoughts on “The Take Away… Girl’s Thoughts on her Final Thoughts on the Finale…

  1. I think this is a wonderful idea – looking forward to taking the journey with you guys.(and don’t tell Cthuhu where you are going – let him figure it out himself)

    • Cthulhu: Seeing as I’m a outside of all time and space, I’ve already seen next season, and have already invaded the blog, which from your standpoint, doesn’t yet exist.
      I’ll only say one thing about season 2: The blue donkey is not as significant as you think.

Leave a Reply

