and the Black Hearts…

By Girl,

 

So, I don’t think we’ll be getting a Joan Jett Cameo like we did in American Horror Stories latest season called “Coven,”  but, we did have another Black Heart show up on set.  Did anyone see this?

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 10.04.59 PM

This image was captured in the moment of what Hart described when he couldn’t take it anymore.  He had to stop being a cop because he didn’t want to see this sort of thing (a baby exploded in a microwave at the hands of a meth addict.)

I’ve seen tow other black hearts in the show.  One I shared, was in Marty’s car.  The other, Guy noticed in Maisie’s (or Macie’s) bedroom. I need to look back now though, see if there are more.  I suspect there are.

For Hart, these hearts seem to show up when he is engaging in something that goes against his usual nature.  He says he is a “people person” despite the fact that he can be a giant ass…  but in his view of himself, he is on the sunny side of Rustin Cohle.  And as he abuses his power (sometimes justly) these stars will continue to appear.  They are indicators not only that Hart is moving toward being disheartened with…  well, everything.  But also that he does intact have a heart in there.  Circumstance though, has led him to act in ways that we wonder about.  I suspected that he was a sociopath.  But I think I was very wrong about this.

This led me to think about the two emerging teams…  Hearts vs. Stars.  Note in this episode that Maggie was wearing a vest type thing made of white star cutouts…  (and while I was sad at first to see the clue laden Hart Family house gone from the 2012 landscape, I was happy to see that in Maggie’s swanky new home, there was  still plenty to sink our teeth into.

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 9.29.49 PM

This led me to think about the divide in the house…  Maggie and Audrey always seemed to have an intense bond and Marty and Macie (or Maisie) had a very similar high school persona.  Walked a straighter line, involved in popular kid activities.  And we know from what Maggie said when she was 19 and wild and what Cohle said about Marty, Paraphrasing, “You always liked the wild ones.” That Maggie is more like Audrey.  So, here we have Maggie with Stars and Marty with Harts.  And in this episode you see a photo of Audrey at her art show posing next to her painting and it looks as though there are a couple black stars in that canvas.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 12.18.59 AM

and earlier, when Audrey was picked up for being with two boys in a car, we get a look into Macie’s (or Maisie’s) bedroom and what do we see?

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 6.26.15 PM

A big black heart with a white frame around it. Looks like there is a photo inside but don’t know who it is.

I point these things out because I think we have scene that outside Maggie’s ragey revenge sex (if you could call it that), with Cohle, she has seemed the most stable person in the Hart Household.  But we all know that often, children are like one parent or the other in real life. And I feel that these stars and hearts (in this household anyway) are indicating that Marty has been the stable one all along and it was Maggie who was the wild child, much like her daughter Audrey.

And I think you all know where I’m going with that idea…  Until later, when we talk about that Mental ward for wayward girls.

One thought on “and the Black Hearts…

  1. Hey Girl,
    This one is sticking with me. Such a wonderful example of the art direction in this show. When you first found that heart in Marty’s car I thought it was cool, but wondered how significant it was. And like most other things, you’ve proven to be ahead of your time. Seeing it appear on the microwave was a stunning reflective moment. I’d like to hug the art team for this show. And you, for finding these sorts of clues.

Leave a comment